In Old Longueuil, stroll along picturesque Saint-Charles Street. Continue eastbound beyond the Co-Cathedral and stop at an imposing, magnificent stone building, home to Centre Marie-Rose. Discover the life of Blessed Marie-Rose Durocher and the Founding House of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary. Visit the Longueuil convent featuring a chapel and a museum, where some of the items that Mother Marie-Rose used every day are on exhibit.
At Centre Marie-Rose, tour the premises that gave rise to this congregation’s mission of education beyond borders. Born in 1811, Eulalie Durocher became known as Mother Marie-Rose. In her capacity, she realized that young women had very little access to education. In 1843, she founded a congregation of teacher nuns in Longueuil that continues today. This heritage and religious building is filled with treasures: the Founding House, the old convent, the boarding school, later to become, in 1982, the House of the Congregation (headquarters) after students no longer attended, the convent chapel blessed in 1847, historical rooms, the museum with a wall work of art illustrating original geographic sites, and artifacts reminiscent of the foundress and her very first assistant nuns.